Weight Training course

Workout equipment in Ƶ gym

This in-class course is designed to provide practical teaching skills required to design basic programs for yourself and others. Some personal weight training experience is recommended.

Course overview

Course overview

This introductory course is designed to prepare students for weight training instruction for both individuals and groups. Students will be taught client screening strategies, needs assessment, recognizing functional deficiencies and their associated corrective techniques, age and client appropriate training modalities, among many other techniques and strategies.
 
Students are exposed to a variety of training programs throughout the term. Aside from training, this course prepares students on how to become instructors in weight training, how to design programs and how to monitor, assist in, and supervise a weight room. The course prepares students to write the BCRPA Weight Training Instructor Exam and prepares them for the Instructor Competency Evaluation (ICE). Upon successful completion of the exam and ICE, students are granted a Weight Training Instructor Certificate. 

Course requirements

Course requirements

Prerequisites

  • Registered as a Fitness Leader with the BCRPA
  • Fitness Theory Course Completion (proof required) 
  • Completed and passed (80%) BCRPA Fitness Theory Exam (proof required)
  • First Aid and CPR certification
  • 1-year Fitness Registration with the BCRPA (not included in course fees)

Textbooks 
Textbook from the Fitness Theory Course is used for this course. For those joining the program at this level, students are required to purchase the course textbook (not included in course fees). Please visit the Ƶ New Westminster Book Store prior to the course starting. For more information please contact the Program Coordinator at sportsinstitute@douglascollege.ca.

Supplemental textbook, Anatomy for Strength and Fitness Training (ISBN 007 147 5338) may also be purchased by the student on their own but is not required.

Note 
Come dressed in fitness wear for the first class.

Cost

Cost

The cost of the in-person Weight Training course is $484.

All program/course fees are subject to change.

Intakes & Schedule

Intakes & Schedule

Module: Weight Training 
Term: Summer 2024
Start date: Wed, June 19, 2024
End date: Sat, August 17, 2024 
A to Z: Weight Training (CRN 21222)
Weight Training Course (CRN 21223):

  • Wed, June 19 (6:30–9:30pm)
  • Sat, June 22 (12–2pm)
  • Mon, June 24 (6:30–9:30pm)
  • Wed, June 26 (6:30–9:30pm)
  • Wed, July 3 (6:30–9:30pm)
  • Sat, July 6 (9am–3pm)
  • Mon, July 10 (6:30–9:30pm)
  • Sat, July 13 (9am–3pm)

Weight Training Instructor Competency Evaluations (CRN 21224):

  • Sat, June 22 (9am–12pm)
  • Mon, July 15 (6:30–9:30pm)
  • Wed, July 17 (6:30–9:30pm)
  • Sat, July 20 (9am–4pm)

Personal Training Practicum (CRN 21125)

  • Wed, August 7 (6–10pm)
  • Sat, August 10 (9am–3pm)
  • Wed, August 14 (6–10pm)
  • Sat, August 17 (9am–3pm)

 

Module: Weight Training 
Term: Fall 2024
Start date: Mon, September 9, 2024
End date: Sat, October 26, 2024 
A to Z: Weight Training (CRN 31047)
Weight Training Course (CRN 31048):

  • Mon, September 9 (6:30pm - 9:30pm)
  • Wed, September 11 (6:30pm - 9:30pm) 
  • Sat, September 14 (9am – 12pm ICE REVIEW) 
  • Sat, September 14 (12pm – 2pm)
  • Mon, September 16 (6:30pm - 9:30pm)
  • Wed, September 18 (6:30pm – 9:30pm)
  • Sat, September 21 (9am – 3pm) 
  • Mon, September 23 (6:30pm - 9:30pm)
  • Wed, September 25 (6:30pm - 9:30pm)
  • Sat, September 28 (9am – 3pm)

Weight Training Instructor Competency Evaluations (CRN 31049):

  • Sat, September 14 (9am – 12pm ICE REVIEW)
  • Wed, October 2 (6:30pm – 9:30pm)
  • Sat, October 5 (9am – 4pm)
  • Mon, October 7 (6:30pm – 9:30pm)

Personal Training Practicum (CRN 31050)

  • Wed, October 16 (6pm – 10pm)
  • Sat, October 19 (9am – 3pm)
  • Wed, October 23 (6pm – 10pm)
  • Sat, October 26 (9am – 3pm)
Registration

Registration options

By phone 
604 527 5472 (view office hours)

By email:

  • Complete the registration form and submit it to cereg@douglascollege.ca via email. Specify the CRNs and the term of the intake you would like to register for in the form. CRNs can be found in the Intakes & Schedule tab. Ensure to enter all the specified CRNs for your chosen intake in the form.
  • Once you submit a completed registration form to cereg@douglascollege.ca via email, one of our Registration Officers will reply to your email in a timely manner and provide further instructions on payment options. Please note: due to the number of email registrations being processed, there may be a delay in receiving an email from a Registration Officer.

Once registration is complete, an email with instructions will be sent to you on how to make your payment. Please follow the instructions in that email to make your payment for the Weight Training Module ($484, subject to change). Please note: students are required to make their payment within 24 hours to complete their registration once they receive their instructions email from one of our Registration Officers.

Students will only receive a payment confirmation email receipt once payment is received. Registration is not complete until payment is received by Ƶ.

Contact us

Registration: email Continuing Education

Sports Institute Office: email Sports Institute